Skip to content

The Birmingham Post Power 50 2009 – the Women

July 31, 2009

On July 30, the Birmingham Post launched it’s Power 50 list.  The 50 most powerful folk in Birmingham – the people who drive the city’s fortune.  I love it.  As I spend more and more time working with people around the city I am familiar with many more of the faces, a few are friends, which makes me enormously proud.

So, how do women fare.  As is my way, I thought I’d start by simply capturing a list of the women who feature.

11. Christine Braddock – Birmingham Metropolitan College (2008 – 45)

12. Julie Moore – UHB (2008 – 16)

18. Suzie Norton – Screen West Midlands (2008 – 15)

24. Salma Yaqoob – Respect Councillor (mine as it happens!) (2008 – 11)

30. Justice Williams – Inner City Creative Media Group

31. Clare Edwards – Gigbeth

37. Helga Henry – Fierce/Creative Republic

40. Julia King – Aston University (2008 – 3)

41. Kerry Thomas – Fused Magazine

So there we are: 9 women – 18%.

Last year there were 12 women in the list , so we’ve fallen 6% points from 24%.  Julia King was at No. 3 – I’m not sure what she’s done this year that is so less impressive…  So last year 5 of the top 20 were women, this year only 3.  Two of my friends – who I know are no less impressive this year have been dropped from the 50: Dorothy Wilson & Sara Gee – is there a rota, maybe it’s your turn again next year.

I wonder how all of this compares with the % of women in senior roles – similar I suspect.  None in the Top Ten.  Some big hitters though and for me it’s great to watch these impressive women – so much to learn from them.  So my challenge for next year – Brimmin – is to get at least 1 back in the top ten and over 20 in the list.  Go for it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 10:58 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    Here’s the link to the power 50 extract for public office: http://www.birminghampost.net/news/power-50/ 3 councillors in addition to Salma by my reckoning – all male

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 1, 2009 3:18 am

    Go Salma! She your councillor?? Well done, lucky folk. Were there many other cllrson thge list, male or female??

    🙂 x

  3. July 31, 2009 1:37 pm

    So this is power? http://www.birminghampost.net/birmingham-business/birmingham-business-news/2009/07/31/screen-wm-chief-executive-claimed-ivy-membership-on-expenses-65233-24286419/

We'd love to read your thoughts on this:

