Skip to content

New Year’s Honours 2009-10

December 31, 2009

Having posted earlier in the year on the success of Brummie women in the Queens Birthday Honours, my eye was drawn to the New Year list.  Generally, it seems we’ve fared less well than in the summer. In fact generally there are fewer awards to midlanders – I wonder if there are fewer distributed in January? Nevertheless, some brilliant local women have made a fine contribution and been recognised.

Again, I know one of them (a sure sign of my extending age!)  I always enjoyed working alongside Deirdre Figueiredo of Craftspace as we were both Directors of the Audiences Central Board for some years.  Since I’ve now left the Board, I haven’t seen her and had no idea she was one of Gormley’s plinthers – wish I’d caught it, it sounds great.

So I’ve trawled the 96 pages to find the Brimmin on the list and here they are:

Trudi Margaret ELLIOTT OBE

Regional Director,Government Office for the West Midlands, Department for Communities and Local

Sharon Gail BAILEY, JP  MBE

Head of Service Learning Disabilities, Birmingham City Council. For services to Local Government.

Deirdre FIGUEIREDO MBE

Director of Craftspace. For services to the Visual Arts in the West Midlands.

Anna-Marie HALE, Mrs Byrne MBE

Matron, Division One Trauma and Orthopaedics, Selly Oak Hospital, Birmingham.

An honorary mention due here to  John Charles ANKCORN MBE – President, Birmingham Crisis Centre.  For voluntary service to Victims of Domestic Violence.

So congratulations to you all and thank you.

[As ever, I really hope I’ve got the awards right – I found a very awkward list to search them on…My apologies if I’ve messed them up, please let me know!]

Here is the full list I’ve pulled the info from…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pippa Parsons permalink
    June 17, 2011 9:25 am

    Heyy Mum!!! Looking at this site for school educational reasons!!

Trackbacks

  1. Brummie Women listing « Women in Brum

We'd love to read your thoughts on this:

