Skip to content

Samantha Brick, who cares?

April 5, 2012

Who really cares about Samantha Brick’s vain article in the Daily Mail earlier this week? Not me.  In fact I was doing really well at avoiding the whole sorry affair of Samantha and her over-inflated sense of self importance.  Until somebody sent me a tweet that claimed her a brummie.

A quick bit of research backed this up: not just Birmingham, but she was born and raised in the neighbouring suburb to mine – Kings Heath.  So what choice did I have but to add her to the brimmin listing. In what way is she brilliant I hear you cry.  Well, I never claimed to support or like the actions of all of the women on this list.  The point is that is recognises the contribution made by the women of our city.  Any woman who can write an article and get so much international attention is getting something right.  I see plenty of nonsense on the internet every day, but rarely does it catch on like this.

My challenge to Samantha now is to find something constructive to say.  Something that might improve the economic and social status  of women? Something that might illustrate more depth of thought than she has managed so far? Something that will turn her from laughing stock to leader?  I’m not holding my breath, but meanwhile she’s into our #brimmin list at number 107 (for now).  If she engages in more outlandish trolling I may make her the first woman to be removed…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cceeeee permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:01 pm

    lol- Jak- that claim would be hot air, not me.. hehehehe

  2. cceeeee permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:00 pm

    I left a really long comment then lost it– gist of it was SB? ‘nyeh’ . I know many TRULY beautiful women, who often work harder, to ensure everyone sees their merit. Generally, everyone wants to be around them as they’re so magnetic .. I could say i’m 6ft 2 and a supermodel, but when people meet me it’s all just so much hot air.. let’s hope she pulls something more tangible out of the hat soon?

  3. cceeeee permalink
    April 10, 2012 5:54 pm

    I just saw this and almost dropped my cream egg Jaki.. then i saw your narrative and managed to catch it before it went crashing.. In my line of work, I meet many sincerely beautiful women, who do sometimes have it harder, in part because they’re doing twice as much, and half as noisily, as others to make sure people know they’ve got where they are on merit. By sincerely beautiful, I don’t mean people who THINK they’re attractive, in a vapid sort of way.. I mean people who truly shine.. and often the only ones complaining about them are the sincerely ugly, so it’s a moot point..

We'd love to read your thoughts on this:

